Frozen Pizza, Old Phones, Mel Brooks…And Shameless Self-Promotion

So, what’s happening in the daily news?  I’ll tell you what’s happening in the daily news…

…Basically it’s a real mixed bag.  My friend Jack doing some interesting work on randomness that does not involve black holes or collapsing wave functions (which is AWESOME), my old Bakelite rotary-dial phones finally being rendered obsolete for buzzing people into my building or indeed even knowing they’re standing at the door half the time…still I refuse to have a phone that lacks a bell inside it, so if you want to visit me you’re basically going to have to write me a letter that outlines your intention to come over…the sending of various bad emails and loose email-cognates by the personage known locally as Me, whose favourite sin is communication and whose household god is clearly Cheap Pilsener, and the noting of a junk anniversary that, against all expectations, has sort of just crept up on me.  Got another one in three days, too.

But oh well.  Also there is a movie on TV that features Mel Brooks wearing a dirty and ragged suit, which is a thing which is Always Funny, and there are three new songs — one for this album, which since the last time I shamelessly promoted it has now grown to the size of a glass half-full (so you should give it another look, should you be so inclined as to do so), and two for the next album, whose working title is “Sophomore Slump”.  Funny, huh?

Well…let’s hope it is.

It’s actually turning into a somewhat fascinating experiment:  how to recapture all that foley-artist stuff they did in the Buddy Holly days, and where to start?  For the next recording session I am going to try my damnedest to convince the harmonica player to sit inside an aluminum garbage can…maybe try to sample a horn from a semi?  Which in all honesty does not sound unlike a harmonica that’s been put through a digital wringer anyway.  Here, backup singer, stuff your mouth with these peanut shells and sing standing on your head in the bathtub!  I must tell you seriously, Notional Reader…to do this stuff in 2010, it’s fun.  It’s beyond lo-fi, and into the realm of carpentry.  It’s a very entertaining learning curve.  But, I guess I’m about done talking about it here…after all, don’t I have some reviews coming?

You know what, I actually do.

But first there are these frozen pizzas to be dealt with.

So…meet you back here when the clock resumes its ticking.  And if you live in Vancouver, you should know that Uncle Fatih’s Pizza (which is of course never frozen, but always fresh) has a new location on the West Side…tell you what, if you go down there tonight you may see me, actually.  I mean, frozen pizza…honestly, who needs it?  Never has so much time been spent on concocting different names for the same crappy thing.  We could house every homeless person in the city if we just outlawed the casual use of the term “Tuscan Chicken”, I sometimes think…

PLACEHOLDER ENDS.

Good Lord, and not before time, eh?

I’ve missed you, Blogging Habit.  Let’s make it work.

7 responses to “Frozen Pizza, Old Phones, Mel Brooks…And Shameless Self-Promotion

  1. Oh my God, you guys! Brian just put up a home-made hack-job video for Alien Alberta!

    I should’ve waited eight hours before posting this.

    WHOOPS.

    • By collapsing wave functions, are you thinking about Penrose and Hammeroff’s OR work?

      Did anyone ever attempt to tie in Ruth Hart through the Seven Soldiers of Steve blogs? She did appear in Man-Thing and Omega. I realize OMEGA was discussed here—very interesting rejoinders, there, will share them with my wife when she finishes OTU trade—and I know you considered MAN-THING one of the stand-alone works…but I’d be interested in contributing a few words on Ruth, as it forms.

  2. No, just your everyday uncertainty…

    If you’d like to do a thing on Ruth, I’d be delighted to link it, Lue! I eventually revised my opinion about Man-Thing’s presence in the “big graphic novel”…which GN was mainly about superheroes, true, however there’s a reason they wander through the swamp sometimes…because the world in which Howard and Man-Thing reside is really all around the superheroes all the time, just mostly invisible to them. In the Gerberverse, that the world-lines of ordinary people and superheroes alike cross one another in the swamp is an important detail…and then there’s Howard, of course.

    But then there’s Ruth, and she’s interesting too! So by all means keep me posted!

    Oh, damn…I never did get back to Matthew about Supergirl and the Phantom Zone…

  3. because the world in which Howard and Man-Thing reside is really all around the superheroes all the time, just mostly invisible to them. In the Gerberverse, that the world-lines of ordinary people and superheroes alike cross one another in the swamp is an important detail—-Yes, exactly! That seemed to be what makes it works so very well, so three-dimensional.

    Thought I’d share (because it quotes you at length:)

    http://ceaseill.blogspot.com/2010/05/trout-in-milk-inimitable-plok-by-end-of.html

Leave a Reply

