Best-Laid Plans

The Primadonna From Planet X

10 responses to “Best-Laid Plans

  1. Crossovers already, no less! Love it!

    Wait a minute…you weren’t writing Fishman as me, were you? Because the parallels are striking…

    • I don’t know if it’ll mean as much without the byplay in this very post, Jonathan, but feel free to link at will.

      (If we’re thinking of the same WW community, I’ve got some ties to it already: I’ve known Mart Grey for over twenty years — we even once shared a house — and Carol Strickland for over thirty. But goodness, what poor old Diana has been through! Have you got two or three hours to listen to me rant?)

  2. Wow. Carol Strickland is a sturdy oak on those forums. I bought her romance e-novel. Had nice chats with Mart Grey, too.

    I do want to hear your whole three hours; I have my own rants to write on WW and some of it really calls for a dialogue. Just not ready yet.

    It’s only fair to indicate, though. What makes me squirm is the thought that our DC&M heroes, as they are right now, are the Fully Realized Form of the characters Broome and Marston, etc, began with. Give those characters serial stories, constant fans, superior printing and far better writers, then Infinitely Marketable Crisis is the asymptote to which their mythologies inexorably converge. In the course of realization we lose the imaginative license and the cheeky, sketchy characters (hey kid! Identify with this!) we loved.

    Everybody sees this. The most primitive troll on the forum sees it; it’s just that he thinks he’s got an original insight, while the rest of us are jaded; and everybody has an answer, from the gracious to the petulant. I want an answer too, I’ve loved the heroes as well as any, and my only distinction is that I have the leisure to think about it, and candidly, the company of you fellows.

    Regarding Diana:

    * The best of American values, presented as a code of knighthood, presented as feminist aspiration. Clear enough?

    * If Sailor Moon grew up to be Samurai Jack. Simple enough?

    * Your kid sister, between the ages of a carefree 7 and a highly morally self-assured 12. You never got her either? Well see, there’s your problem.

    That’s my pitch in a nutshell, along with some ruminations on utopia in comparison to historical cultures, and the question of whether there’s any cultural force in imagined lost civilizations, or their contemporary equivalent, alternate histories.

    Now I will pull all this together at some point. Just now I’m going through some urgent re-education, and the Trout is where I come to relax.

    But whatever you have to say, I bet it’s spot on. Plok’s point that he just dug up was spot on too.

    All good cheer
    Jonno

  3. Succinct stuff, Jonathan: hey yeah, what’s so complicated? I really do think the utopias and the Lost Civilizations still have a lot to offer — I mean, think about it, we’ve really shied away from them over the last few decades, at least we’ve shied away from their natural implications, their natural state of commentary on us…alien worlds and hidden kingdoms, it seems all they’re good for these days is for pointing to and saying “see? More of the same”. And I think there’s something confused and rather desperate about that authorial posture, all question-begging and self-serving apologies, fear of imagination perhaps. Maybe it’s just on my mind because I saw the new Star Trek movie tonight (the space of a comment doesn’t really allow me to say what I thought about it), and it reminded me of a recent hobby-horse of mine: to do these serial stories, you really have to be able to do what the characters have to do in them — actively re-choose the thing each moment, with no coasting on “legacy”. You can see that this is not necessarily an endorsement of the Star Trek movie! But the Star Trek movie’s certainly involved with the question…

    Because, I mean, you have to be able to escape the big black hole of where a story’s “gravity” is taking you…will take you, rather, if you can’t really re-commit to it. And, huh, maybe there’s a bit of Alan Moore in there, you know? “What would happen if we just let that gravity take over anyway, how would we explore what it seem to want to do, from the inside of the funnel as it sucks us down?” Still need commitment for that, of course, if you want to do it properly! But it’s a special sort of project for commitment to want to undertake…

    Oh, so I guess it turns out I do have something to say about Star Trek, I guess…I think it’s like X-Men 3, in a way…

    But anyhow. The “gravity” is an illusion, right? An assumption. There’s really no such thing as this gravity, it’s all just in the mind of the creator. And it’s so simple to make engaging characters that are about something, you just have to do it…

Leave a Reply

