The Kirby Zodiac

Welcome, Bloggers!

RAB and I made a game. Here’s how it works: you e-mail me with your astrological sign, and I’ll e-mail you back with the Kirby version of it. Once I’ve revealed all twelve signs of the Kirby Zodiac to those parties who may be interested, I’ll post ’em all up for public viewing.

Sounds like fun?

I’ll tellya…it actually worked disturbingly well

36 responses to “The Kirby Zodiac

  1. Ha! Sure, why not? ;-) In my first publishing job, I was a proofreader for a bunch of professional astrologers. Don’t even get me started on Sun signs, Rising signs, Moon signs, etc., etc., etc. …

  2. Problem is, you’re going to run into a statistical morass. You’re looking to fit people into slots, but the remainder get harder each time you fill one. If you and Rab are taking up two slots, there’s a 10 in 12 chance that the next person will be a different sign, but only a 9 in 12 chance once that’s been filled. By the time you’ve got eleven slots filled, the chance that the next person will have the remaining sign is only 1 in 12, which means you’ll be kissing a lot of frogs to find your prince.

  3. Ah, but what frogs!

    It shouldn’t be as tough as the time my family put names into a hat to decide who was going to get who a Christmas present. After about three-quarters of an hour, we had to give up and go back to the old system.

    Because there’s only four of us.

  4. I’ve a feeling this thread is going to end with you saying, ‘at midnight, I’ll switch on this machine, and everyone born under the sign of Aries will die.’

  5. Uh…Bobsy?

    Ah! I guess you were talking about a machine that would kill everyone born under the sign of Aries!

    It’s still mine, though.

  6. Imagine if you set the calibration wrong and accidentally wiped out all the Capricorns by mistake. Talk about embarrassing – the other supervillains would never let you live it down.

  7. Hey! Don’t wipe out the Capricorns! Capricorns are nice!

    Well, okay, Capricorns are grouchy ol’ power-hungry ladder-climbing money-grubbing control freaks — but they’re NICE grouchy ol’ power-hungry ladder-climbing money-grubbing control freaks …

  8. All I can say is I’m digging the level of interest so far, but I’m really keen to see what kind of feedback the individual entries garner, with regard to either the Kirby side or the astrological side. Even comments to the effect of “That’s what you guys think of Scorpio?” would be illuminating for me…

    @ Jonathan Burns: Leary and Wilson explained how there were actually twenty-four signs of the Zodiac, and each individual has to pass through each one on his or her way to godhood. Keeping the second twelve a secret is how The Man keeps us down! Fight the power!

  9. You should see the hit-counts on this post, RAB.

    So far, via email, people seem delighted with their Kirby signs! I think we’re simply nailing it.

    I imagine that once I put the whole list up, we may hear some more varied responses — people are easy to satisfy with their own, but they love to comment on other folks’.

  10. Thank you for sending me mine (which happens to be my favorite Kirby design, coincidentally)- I can’t wait to read the others! I was expecting a Kirby creation named after that sign, not… well, I don’t want to spoil it, just say it was fun.

  11. Okay, let’s start the count: as soon as I get twenty-four hours in a row without requests for Kirbyized Zodiac signs, I’ll put up all the signs for public viewing.

  12. I’m personally looking forward to abusing the vast powers which pour from the fingers of my Kirbyzac character.

Leave a Reply

