To Tom Foss, And All Users Of Moderated Comments

I’d just like to say, yeah, moderate away, that doesn’t bug me.

What bugs me is something completely different:  entering a Google username and password.

I’m sure no one cares but me, but I just don’t like having to do it, so I don’t.  Which puts a crimp in the blogosphere if there is anyone else like me, but if there isn’t, then it’s just me, so…

Moderate away, I guess.

However Tom, just thought I’d tell you:  that link in your last post doesn’t go anywhere.

6 responses to “To Tom Foss, And All Users Of Moderated Comments

  1. I only moderate comments so spam doesn’t get by … and I think I’m going to start eliminating those weird ping-backs too.

    That said, I’m not quite sure why so many people think this is a crucial issue at this moment.

  2. Yes, I loathe it as well.

    Quite a few such blogs have recently switched over to a multiple entry system, wherein you can offer any number of identifiers as your ID, INCLUDING just a screen name.
    I think that might be a “Blogger”-specific feature however.

    ONE of these days I’ll get a blog of my own and will then be able to fully participate, but at this time, my spirit (and nerd-soul) is willing but my schedule is weak.

    One day, before armageddon maybe.

    ~P~
    P-TOR

  3. Eh…any of those identifiers are free. I had a problem where some trolls pretended to be someone else in posting a comment that didn’t require logins. That’s what led me to go to some sort of login indefinitely. Before then, I was just turning it on and off in order to discourage one or two posters pretending to be multiple people.

Leave a Reply

