“Skyless Space And Time Without Depth”

A couple hours have gone by, and I seemed to be a lot freer of the strange sense of shock I felt when I heard that Steve Gerber died…

So I checked the Comics Weblog Update.

And there were…

How many?

There were many. Eulogistic remarks being made, that is. Something like a flood of them, actually.

Yes: rather like a flood.

I pretty much have to go to bed, now. But in the morning I’ll use this post to link to a big chunk of the ones I saw, plus Mark Evanier and Stevegerblog…which is currently being administrated by Mark Evanier, natch. Really, all hail Mark, for God’s sake: what won’t that guy do for a friend?

Okay, ’til tomorrow then, when there’ll be some links on this post.

And just like that, here it is tomorrow. And they’re still coming in.

Here are just a few, or a few that contain links to a few, or a few that just contain links:

Steve’s blog

Mark Evanier

Len Wein

Marv Wolfman

Peter B. Gillis

Gail Simone

Lea Hernandez

Dave Sim

Neil Gaiman

Charles Yoakum

Blogorama Quote/Unquote

Comics Bulletin

There are, as I’ve said, many more like this. As well as many, many far-flung fans who felt moved to compose a little piece of their own:

Phil Mateer

Todd Franklin

Gavin Burrows

Matt M.

Roger Green

John from Long Beach

Bauwauhaus

I mean, I have no idea who these people are, you understand: I just found them, that’s all. Found them, and thought: “hey…fellow lodge member.” Fellow human being wandering around in the blackout. Howya doing. Thank you for your eloquent remembrances.

A few more, slightly better-known bloggers also shared their thoughts, like:

Danny Best

Bitterandrew

Mike Sterling

Steve Flanagan

Brendan Wright

Tim O’Neill

Johnny Bacardi

And finally quite a handful of the usual inside-the-Beltway suspects from over on my sidebar found themselves with things to say about Steve…but with no disrespect intended, I’ll just mention one or two of them, because this is getting quite long, and unfortunately I have to go to work:

RAB, naturally

Jim Roeg

Gorjus

Disintegrating Clone

The Fortress Keeper

David Golding

I regret the necessity of missing out so many people…but unfortunately that is a necessity, at least from where I’m sitting, with no food in me and a pile of work to do. Please browse around, though: there are many very moving elegies for Steve out there. They’re practically hanging from the rafters.

Fitting tributes, all. You basically just have to close your eyes and throw a dart, and you’ll hit one.

Now it’s back to the coal face for me, I’m afraid. More later; hope you find these useful.

[EDIT: Tom Spurgeon is collecting links too, much more comprehensively than I’ve done here. I’m sure you all saw his eulogy, but this is something you shouldn’t miss: 999 blog entries reporting so far, and a lot of miscellaneous stuff too. Truly remarkable.]

18 responses to ““Skyless Space And Time Without Depth”

  1. Such a sad day. Your Seven Soldiers of Steve challenge made me look at Gerber’s work carefully for the first time and really begin to appreciate the man’s genius. Thanks for that, plok.

  2. I never met Steve Gerber, but his writing is so *human* that I feel like I know him on some level. Other great comic book writers, like Grant Morrison and Alan Moore, can reinvent and push against boundaries all they want. No other writer working in mainstream comics could truly pierce the fourth wall and bring us readers into the lives of the characters like Steve Gerber.

  3. I didn’t mention in my piece how much I enjoyed his Defenders run as well. Anyway, I feel the same sense of loss I did when George Harrison died; didn’t know him, but felt as though I did.

  4. I know this should get me to post if anything can, but with my computer down, I just can’t get enough quiet time on this borrowed one to be able to concentrate properly long enough for proper posting, restricting me to commenting until the situation changes.
    Have you seen this one? Mark Millar’s response:
    http://forums.millarworld.tv/index.php?showtopic=78037
    It’s somewhat gratifying (though still sad & too little too late) to see how many people are acknowledging how influential and before his time he was.
    Still watching to see if Moore or Morrison have anything to say…

  5. Ah, Don McGregor. Number two behind Steve, in my opinion. The thought of Don improvising some Quak Fu moves on Steve in a New York apartment block is something that’ll stay with me.

    But, wow, I’m upset about this. I’ve always made a point of not mourning people I don’t know. Those ridiculous Princess Diana mourners, blubbing about how they knew her and felt more upset than when their own parents had died. Just self-indulgent and silly, I thought.

    It turns out I’m not so different. But with Steve, somehow, you felt, against the evidence, that you did know him.

    I was reading Journey To Mystery yesterday, and then Ed Brubaker’s Uncanny X-Men. Nothing against Brubaker, but Gerber’s work had so much more soul. So many comic writers are just post-Clarement/Ellis plot-merchants. Brilliant constructs, but no analysis. Steve told stories, but reflected back on them as he did so. The story and the meta-story at the same time.

    Damn., I’m going to miss him.

  6. I recall seeing Salman Rushdie talking about the weird (if you remember: really rather weird!) Princess Di mourning phemonenon. He said he couldn’t believe the spontaneous outpouring of emotion, he thought everybody hated Princess Di!

    But there they were, doing these amazing commemorative things on television.

    Then, he said, after a day or two, he noticed something rather sinister: that the immense mourning behaviours were still there, but the soul had fled (boy, I’m speaking in cliches today, huh?), as the new people who came in to weep and cast rose petals seemed to be only aping the action of other folks they’d seen on television. Because they wanted to belong, or something. But he said he could detect a certain emotional roboticism in their apparent grief.

    It’s why I thought I sounded crass, when I pointed out Don McGregor’s comment. What, is it a tennis match of grief, or something?

    But of course I was being ridiculous, I think. Steve was an incredibly powerful formative influence on me, for me there was a Gerber mystique that I willingly entered into, his voice really changed my whole life…yes, all that. I did feel like I knew him. Because in a way, he made me.

    Well, Don McGregor, too: I mean how are you to not feel you know him from his writing, for God’s sake isn’t that what he does…?

    I guess I just know that voice, almost as well as Steve’s. I kind of get it; so I wanted to hear it.

    It’s terrible that this guy’s dead. Not just for me; his voice isn’t making any new sentences for young outcasts like I once was, either. I, too, have nothing against Brubaker. But he isn’t a torch-carrier like Steve was. He’s an excellent comics writer. But there’s good comics, and then there’s comics that massage your heart and change your mind while you read them.

    I’ll miss him too, Clone. It’s funny, I walk down the street to get coffee, people say “howya doin’?”…it’s impossible for me to relate the size of this bad news to them, so of course I don’t bother trying. Here’s a guy without whom I would never have formed the self-image I have now. This is like John Lennon, or George Harrison, to me. Christ, some comics geeks don’t even get it, to them Gerber’s just a name…and I wonder what creators changed their lives and perspectives. I feel like one day I’ll be mourning Bob Dylan, and everybody else will be saying “hasn’t Anthony Kiedis gotten fat? What a shame it is”.

    It seems impossible to conceive of. I almost want to walk into my LCS wearing a black armband.

    Of course I’m too old for that now, I guess.

  7. Here’s something weird—I’ve never read any Gerber, yet I feel sad. Somehow you, Plok, and the other soldiers, have made his writing—and therefore him—real for me. I’ve felt your eulogy most—how could I not feel sad at the passing of a man who could inspire that?

    If all goes well, I should be reading a few Gerber issues tonight.

  8. Pingback: Unexplained Absence… and Things to Come! « The Wright Opinion·

Leave a Reply

