What Happened, That You Have To Know About

Finally, the LSH cartoon is being carried in Canada. Well, okay, not in Canada, but on a station I get.

More Teen Titans than B: TAS, I’d say…and in case there was any doubt — yes, I like it.

I LOVE IT!

Only one problem: when they call Superboy “Superman”, I cringe. That’s awful. He’s not “Superman”.

He’s SuperBOY.

Damn it all.

Anyway…couple other notes. I saw Hellboy: Sword Of Storms, too. Funny thing about this: my brother watched part of it with me, and if I gave him a Hellboy comic (well, there’s no “if” about it, only “when”), he’d love it like crazy. But, seeing Hellboy, he did this:

[snort] “Hellboy”.

It’s aggravating. Here’s a guy who’s got every reason to like it, every reason in the world. He loves Samurai Jack. He’s down with the blaxploitation Luke Cage. He groks the Fabulous FF. Believe me, I made sure of it!

But he thinks Hellboy is silly. It’s like that’s a step too far for him.

Don’t worry, Bloggers: I’m getting him the comics. But, anybody else have this problem, some kind of salinity barrier with comics stuff among people who are otherwise primed for it?

Come to think of it, he didn’t seem to like LSH, either. Weird! But maybe he thought: oh, what, there’s fifty of them? You know, I like it…but I’m not sure I’m ready to be married to it…

Maybe that’s it.

Anyway…quite the Golden Age of superhero adaptation we’re living in, isn’t it?

6 responses to “What Happened, That You Have To Know About

  1. Where are you getting the Legion cartoon, that’s not Canadian? YTV is showing the first season, anyway, if that gives you another option.

    I’m not sweating the Superboy/Superman thing; I’m sure that DC would call him ‘Superboy’ if they could. Not worth making a big thing about.

    Come to think of it, he didn’t seem to like LSH, either. Weird! But maybe he thought: oh, what, there’s fifty of them? You know, I like it…but I’m not sure I’m ready to be married to it…

    Ah, come on; the cartoon starts us off easy…

    Anyway…quite the Golden Age of superhero adaptation we’re living in, isn’t it?

    Actually, yeah; is this in response to my recent post on the same subject?

  2. Would you believe it wasn’t until *now* that I realized that the title of this post was potentially an allusion to my blog?

    Sometimes these things take me a while.

Leave a Reply

